Daphne de Kluis appointed to Achmea’s Executive Board

Daphne de Kluis will be appointed to Achmea’s Executive Board with effect from 12 October 2021. She fills the vacancy that arose following the departure of Willem van Duin, chair of the Executive Board, and the appointment of Bianca Tetteroo to that position in April. Daphne de Kluis joins Achmea from ABN AMRO, where she was CEO of Commercial Banking and a member of the Executive Committee.

At Achmea, Daphne de Kluis will be responsible for Pension & Life, Achmea Pension Services, Achmea Investment Management, Syntrus Achmea Real Estate & Finance and Achmea Bank. Her appointment has been approved by the Dutch Central Bank (DNB) and will be discussed at Achmea’s General Meeting.

Long career at ABN AMRO
Daphne de Kluis joined ABN AMRO in 1998. After holding various roles at Commercial Clients and Corporate & Institutional Banking she became Global Head of Debt Solutions in 2009 and Global Head of Financial Restructuring & Recovery in 2013. In 2017 she was appointed CEO of Commercial Banking and joined the Executive Committee of ABN AMRO.

Daphne de Kluis studied Labor and Organizational Psychology at the University of Amsterdam. She is a member of the Supervisory Boards of Euronext Amsterdam and of Stadsherstel Amsterdam.

Experienced executive
Bianca Tetteroo, chair of the Executive Board of Achmea: “Daphne de Kluis is a versatile manager with extensive national and international experience and will be a great asset for our team. The Executive Board is looking forward to her arrival and to working with her in the future.”

Jan van den Berg,
chair of the Supervisory Board of Achmea: “I am delighted that with Daphne de Kluis we again have a full-strength Executive Board. Her appointment will create a good combination of experience, expertise and personalities in the Executive Board.

Membership of the Executive Board
From 12 October 2021, the Executive Board of Achmea will comprise Bianca Tetteroo (chair), Michel Lamie (vice-chair and CFO), Daphne de Kluis, Robert Otto, Lidwien Suur and Henk Timmer (CRO).